The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

All By Myself

on August 16, 2010

We haven’t been to the zoo since April, which is a crime. The zoo is easier when someone comes with us, so when I’m thinking of things to do on the weekends, it’s not the first thing that comes to mind. I finally decided to take them by myself because if it went well, it would be a good outing for us.

The nice thing about being the only adult was that I didn’t have to stop for every animal. Some animals are boring. All they do is sleep, so what’s the point? Instead we could zoom to the animals that the girls like.

We took the BOB stroller, but I didn’t strap the girls in. We had talked on the drive there that we would be riding in the stroller, but would also get out to see the animals. They were awesome about it. Because they weren’t strapped in, they could get in and out on their own. For the animals that they needed to be higher for, I lifted them up. Plus, we were there early enough that there was plenty of room for us to park the double stroller in the back, and then get closer to the exhibit. I purposely didn’t bring my big camera so that I wouldn’t have to worry about it.

But, not having a purse meant I had no cash. And everything is cash there. We couldn’t feed the goats and we couldn’t get ice cream. Ugh. I felt bad because it was hot, so I totally would have done ice cream. Luckily, the stores in the main building take credit cards so we could finally get some.

Favorite animal of the trip? The sharks. Both of the girls went crazy for them! We never seem to make it into Discovery Bay, but since it was hot out, I was looking for some inside stuff to do. It was perfect! We’re going back next weekend to do the other indoor trail, the monorail, and to see the sharks again.


Leave a comment