The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Meet Lily

on October 5, 2020

Oak Hill Farm would like to introduce you to our first full time employee, Lily! We adopted a barn cat!

If you’ve seen me in the last few months, I’ve probably mentioned that we were looking for a barn cat. I was told one might show up, but that didn’t happen. I heard about lots of kittens, but I didn’t want to bring a kitten into the barn. Way too easy to have the kitten end up in the house. Someone mentioned that rescues will adopt out working cats, cats that don’t do well in homes. Bingo! A little googling led me to our local humane society. A few days later I had an email with the details on four available cats.

We went with Lily because she’d previously been a stray, and wasn’t doing well in the shelter. I really wanted a cat that was used to being outside, that even preferred being outside. Her bio said she’d bit someone’s shoe, so I knew she was our girl. Research also told me females are better hunters. I was a little worried because she’s only 9 lbs, but I have a feeling she can hold her own. Her facial expressions crack me up though. She looks very – WTF? – all the time, which I can appreciate.

For the next two weeks she’s hanging out here. Her little crate sits inside at the back, and with the blankets and the hay, she’s toasty warm. We feed her, and bring her out to play (to either the tack room or to Ellie’s stall) and get to know her. The hope is at the end of two weeks she isn’t too pissed at us for locking her up, and understands this is her home and decides to stay. Cross your fingers. She’s fairly playful, although very much tenses up when you pick her up or pet her. Which again, is all fine. I do not want a cat in the house (hard line, full stop), and am more than happy to make sure she is cozy and well fed in the barn, where she can hunt mice to her heart’s content.


One response to “Meet Lily

Leave a comment