The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Cooking Weekend

on November 21, 2011

This summer we were gone nearly every weekend. The weekends we were home I dreaded it because the three of us drove each other crazy. I really, really wasn’t looking forward to winter because we’re home nearly every weekend. Except, it’s actually been nice. The girls are playing together really well and imaginatively, which takes them all over the house and keeps them entertained. I’m actually able to get stuff done which is nice so I’m not feeling constantly behind. And by Sunday night, we’re all still happy.

The thing with eating gluten free is that it’s a lot of prep work. In order for me to stick to the plan, I have to prep food on the weekend. Last weekend I roasted a bunch of vegetables and made some quinoa which was lunch all week. This week I’m off from work, so I could be a little more flexible with my lunches. I made homemade yogurt and granola. Between the three of us we go through a lot of yogurt, so I try to make mine to ease that pain a little. And seriously, is there anything better than granola fresh from the oven? I could eat the entire pan! I have a few different granola recipes bookmarked, but Alton Brown’s recipe is the best and most flexible.

I also roasted a chicken on Saturday. Roasting a chicken is one of those things I waited far too long in my adult life to do because I thought I didn’t have the right equipement. Turns out, a casserole dish will do just fine. Here’s the recipe I use and it’s fairly fool proof. I generally buy 2-4 birds at a time, make a big batch of the marinade and then throw all but one in the freezer. Thaw it Friday, roast it Saturday, make chicken stock on Sunday! It worked out really well, especially since everyone in our house likes roast chicken, and our house smelled fabulous.


Leave a comment