The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Heavy

on August 14, 2017

It’s been a heavy weekend. Saturday I went to an adoption event with Loki and there was a tiny rat terrier there that I’ve been waiting to see. She’s gorgeous. She has an all white body with a black and brown face. And she’s only 5 lbs! It’s like a Midas-sized Lark! Except she’s about 10 times more scared than Larkie ever was. She was shivering in a corner so I scooped her up and held her for most of the event. She calmed down in my arms, but I had to hold back the tears when I wondered what someone had done to make this beautiful dog this fearful. If all works out, once Loki is adopted she’ll come to our house. I’m hoping Lark and Midas can work their magic on her. I’ve thought about scooping her out of boarding sooner, but four dogs is really my max.

Throughout the day on Saturday and Sunday I scrolled through Twitter. The events in Charlottesville made me sick to my stomach. I’m not shocked it happened since hate crimes have been on the rise since election day, but it made me realize that we really have so much work to do in this country. Even once Trump is gone, there is so much hate in this country that we have to deal with.

So yeah, heavy weekend.

And now it’s Game of Thrones time. Daenarys Targaryen always makes me feel better.


Leave a comment