The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Exhausted

on July 20, 2017

The girls and I are exhausted, and honestly, we kind of have been all summer. It started back in May. That last week was jam packed with softball, getting the renters out, painting and getting the house ready, then heading to NYC. We came back to softball and YMCA and while we love both, combine those with late bedtimes for everyone and we’re tired.

I keep the girls home with me on Thursdays so they can have a day to sleep in and rest. I always think we’ll hit the pool in the afternoon or a playground, but they are mostly so tired that it’s books and movies. At least a few times a week Delaney asks if she can just stay home and sleep. While I feel her, it’s not really an option. Mama can’t work from home every day! I occasionally wonder if I should get a nanny next summer? But no. Too expensive, we all love the YMCA and the friends they’ve made there, and also no.

Any other moms out there have trouble going to bed a decent hour? I used to go to bed around 10:30, maybe 10:45. That time has slowly slipped until now it’s often 11:30 when I turn my light off. What am I doing to myself? I know I should go to bed earlier. I’m exhausted, I’ll even put my book down, but then I just can’t stop doing things on my phone until boom! It’s close to midnight. I’ve been trying to set an alarm so that I have a audible reminder to go to bed, but it’s only been a few nights.

The other side of this is that now that we’re all overtired, it’s hard to get a good nights sleep. We go to bed early but toss and turn trying to fall asleep. Then, kids are waking up in the middle of the night, dogs are waking up in the middle of the night, which means I’m waking up in the middle of the night. It’s complete chaos at 4am.

Wish us luck. We are on a mission to get back on a better sleep schedule. I feel like if they can be in bed by 8:30pm, that gives me downtime to relax and get to bed earlier, and hopefully gets them asleep earlier. I’m hoping we can get back into a better sleep groove quickly!


4 responses to “Exhausted

  1. Kyla says:

    I remember at that age being SO FRUSTRATED with an 8:30 bedtime, because in midsummer, it was still light out. Could that be a factor in the later times?

    • Erin says:

      When they were younger, yes. They definitely didn’t want to go to bed when it was light out. But now, if they go to bed late it’s because we have something going on. Softball usually didn’t end until close to 8:00. The movie didn’t end until 9:00. If we’re at the lake it’s hard to get to bed before 10:30 because there are boat rides and fires and s’mores. The last few weeks they’ve put themselves to bed at 8:15 if we’re home because they’re so tired! I think in the summer, there’s more to do so it’s hard to stop early and go to bed.

Leave a Reply

