The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Loons

on July 7, 2017

The loon is Minnesota’s state bird. They are gorgeous, and their calls are quintessentially summertime at the lake. On my parent’s lake, they put out loon nests to help them find safe places to have their babies, so there are a ton of loons on the lake. It’s amazing, and it never gets old to see and hear them up close. Last year I tried to get pictures of them, but my lens wasn’t enough. I bought a 55-250 lens and this summer was the first time I was able to try it out. I brought it on our Monday evening boat cruise and we came upon a mama and her two babies! We slowed way down to check them out and by the end, I wouldn’t have even needed a big lens, they were that close! Unfortunately, I was shooting into the sun (I think?) and the water was reflecting off the lake and the trees were dark behind, and I suck at editing, but out of my 50+ pictures, there were two that came out kind of okay. Not what I had in my head, but it’s a start.


Leave a Reply

