The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

New Routines

on June 16, 2017

When we went up to the lake for the first time in May I thought “And now it’s summer!” When we went to the pool for the first time I thought “Well now it’s really summer”. But truly, when we got in the car and headed to the YMCA on Monday morning, that was the beginning of summer and lo, it has been brutal.

We got home from NYC last Wednesday. That night we had a YMCA parent meeting and a softball game and our schedule has not stopped since. Without a doubt, I should have taken last Thursday and Friday off, I would have been in much better shape. Instead we have been perpetually behind (and exhausted).

YMCA is an entirely different schedule for us. We make lunches and pack snacks the night before. The girls do most of this, but it still needs to be done. We get up earlier in the mornings so we can leave earlier, but I don’t actually get into work much earlier. It also takes much longer to pick them up and get back home, so our evening routines are off. Softball is either at 5:30 or 6:00. Those times were a push before, but this week I had to sit down and write out drive times to figure out when I needed to leave work. On top of all of that, I signed them up for a 7:45am riding lesson. I thought it would be great to get it out of the way early in the morning, but even though we get up super early, they don’t get to YMCA until 9:30am.

The house is a disaster. We didn’t have anything going on yesterday so we were able to get things cleaned up a bit, but at any given time there are 6 water bottles and four lunch/snack containers scattered around the kitchen. The girls have a birthday party tonight, so I’m hoping to get the lawn mowed and laundry put away while they’re gone. If I can get things back to mostly good, we’ll at least be set up for next week.

We’ll eventually figure out our routines, I know we will. But I hate this period of chaos.


Leave a Reply

