The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Sleepy Kid

on May 9, 2017

As far as sleep goes, the girls are very different. Caden turns her reading light out by 9:00pm at the very latest, usually before, and she falls asleep quickly. She’s up in the morning around 7:00am because she likes some time by herself to watch cartoons. Delaney generally doesn’t go to sleep until after 10:00pm. She usually reads late, but then doesn’t fall asleep quickly either. During the week I wake her up at 7:30am, but on the weekends she’s been known to sleep as late as 10:30. (Sunday I woke her at 10:00 because we were hungry and wanted to go to brunch.)

Saturday night the girls went to bed at 8:30 without any argument. I thought that was weird. Caden slept until 8:15 Sunday morning which must have thrown her off, because Sunday night she came out of her room at 10:00pm. I knew this didn’t bode well for her.

I finally went in and woke her up at 7:30 Monday morning. She was clearly still very tired and moaned and groaned for 30 minutes until it was time for breakfast. She told me multiple times she wanted to stay home so she could get more sleep, and when I said no she flopped on the table and said “I just can’t do this today!” Ha! Such drama! I told her to start counting down the minutes until she could go to bed again, like every mom does. She did not see the humor or logic in that.

When they got home from school I asked if her day gotten any better and she said “No! I had to run the mile today!” To top it all off, I made her eat meat! She’d already had meat for lunch! Why couldn’t she just have an egg?!

I offered up a 7:30 bedtime, but they both decided on 8:00 instead, with a hard lights out at 8:30. I would not bet on Delaney sticking to that though.


Leave a Reply

