The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Ice Castles!

on January 30, 2017

Every few years somewhere in town has a gigantic ice castle. It used to be St. Paul for the Winter Carnival, but now there’s a company that does them in a few different cities throughout the US. I am not the best at wintertime outdoor activities, so when I saw this, I thought it was something we could do as a family where I wouldn’t freeze my butt off. Some friends of ours also wanted to go, and it was a date!

The weather was 26 and sunny, perfect. Any warmer and we would have gotten dripped on the entire time, any colder and I would have been complaining. The ice castles weren’t as tall as I was hoping for, but they were definitely cool. Lots of cool ice formations, tunnels, domes, and a few slides. We spent about an hour there, which is probably typical if you’re there with kids.

And now, picture overload!

snow-1

The ice was blue which made it look so cool.  There were also all sorts of nooks and crannies behind the icicles.

snow-2

Caden was our official map reader.

snow-3

The sky was such a deep blue, I couldn’t resist.

snow-4

The girls kept finding photo ops and then posing for me.  They know what’s expected of them when the big camera comes out!

snow-5

 

This was the Dome Room I think?  And curse that man for ruining my shot.

snow-6

It’s hard to tell, but she’s kind of tucked back into the ice.  There were all sorts of indents and places for kids to explore.

snow-7

 

snow-8

These were the little slides.  I knew they had slides, and we saw these after we went through the ice maze.  We kept saying that a bigger slide was surely doable right?  I mean there was so much ice!  Surely they could make a little luge right?

snow-9

And they did!  You had to crawl through a tunnel to get to the top, then the kids slid down through this long tunnel.  I kind of wanted to go down this slide, but the adults that came through didn’t seem to have the momentum to make it to the end of the slide, so I skipped.

Stillwater is a bit of a drive, but it was so good to get outside and do something on a sunny, winter day.  Thanks Corinne, without someone to go with I probably would have bailed on this!


One response to “Ice Castles!

  1. Damita says:

    Those are stunning! Makes me wish I lived in a colder climate. Sometimes!

Leave a Reply

