The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Happy birthday Midas!

on December 13, 2016

midas

The Mighty Man is six years old today!

It’s a bummer his birthday is in the winter, because summertime at the lake is clearly his favorite time of year. I smile every time I think of him running away from us down the hill towards the lake. He knew exactly what he was doing, and would look back and give you a little grin as he hopped away.

This little dude, I always joke that he’s the son I never had. He’s always so happy to see us when we get home, so eager to snuggle in and sleep, and so happy to be with us. I can’t believe there was ever a moment when I thought he might belong with someone else.

For his birthday, he’s getting a pigs ear, a birthday cupcake if I can pull it together and pick one up, and a date with a trainer in January. Midas loves me, maybe a little too much, and he gets angry if the other dogs get close to me when I’m holding him. It’s not good behavior. We’ve been trying to nip it in the bud on our own, but it’s time to bring in the professionals. I’d also like to be able to teach him to sit, but every time I pull out a treat he freaks out. He still gets so over excited about food, likely from his puppy mill days. I’m hoping they’ll have some strategies to help him out.


One response to “Happy birthday Midas!

  1. Grammy says:

    Happy Birthday, Mr. Midas. You captured our hearts, too.

Leave a Reply

