The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Arizona – Hike #1

on November 21, 2016

My parents have retired to Mesa, AZ for the winter. Luckily, they are at the base of a fair number of mountains so there is great hiking nearby. Friday morning we headed to a regional park to hike the San Tan mountains. It was gorgeous weather, and I really wanted to get in a hike before we headed to the Grand Canyon.

hike-1

Once my parents bought their place in Arizona, a bunch of their friends did as well. I love that they have so many friends to be active with!

hike-2

There are so many majestic saguaro cactuses everywhere!

hike-3

A few years ago my dad checked out a cactus like this. The barbs famously “jumped” from the cactus into him. It’s kind of a running joke, except that’s totally what this cactus does. We made sure to stay far away from it!

hike-4

It was a very sunny day. Shortly after this picture I noticed Caden was melting a bit. It wasn’t very hot, but she was so excited for this trip she was a little short on sleep and food. I ended up giving a lot of piggy back rides on the way back.

hike-5

So many cool trees, so many cool photo ops!

hike-6

The girls have held my hand everywhere this trip. It’s not something they do much at home, so I’m savoring it!


One response to “Arizona – Hike #1

  1. I am so cold over here in New England and I am sooooo jealous!!!

Leave a Reply

