The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

One Year

on November 7, 2016

We moved into our house one year ago today. I closed November 5, painted for two days, then we moved in on November 7. That first month was pure chaos! This house is set up very differently than my old house and it took a lot of work (mostly by my parents) to organize and put things away. That work definitely highlighted other projects I wanted to do.

I know very little about the history of this house except what I’ve been able to piece together from a few conversations with the neighbors, but I do know this – Whoever did the first renovation did not do a very good job. I highly doubt they used licensed contractors (my neighbor said they used friends) and that’s evident in the work they did. The guy I bought the house from fixed a lot of their mistakes (thanks!) but there was only so much he had time to do.

Here’s a state of the state on my list of projects.

They used box cabinets for the kitchen and while they *look* nice, they are incredibly inefficient and some of the doors are loose. This project is at the top of the list, but I’m glad we waited because the plan for the remodel has changed many times. More than anything, I want to make efficient use of the space, while still keeping it an eat in kitchen. We eat all of our meals there and I don’t want to lose that. New cabinets, new backsplash, and new flooring. I’m debating between tile and the fancy linoleums, but I want white/light and most of the fancy linoleums seem to be darker patterns. With my dad in retirement mode now, this will have to wait until end of summer 2017.

The garage is technically attached to the house, but you can’t actually go straight from the garage into the house. It’s a pain, and I’d really love a mudroom. We’ve thrown around the idea of enclosing the porch which would accomplish both things, but I just can’t seem to pull the trigger on this. It seems like it would work, but I don’t really want to lose my front door and I can’t seem to picture the entrance. This one’s on hold.

I love having my own bathroom, but they did it in dark slate tile. I’m more of a white subway tile girl, so I’d love to redo it. Also, they did the shower drain incorrectly. The drain sits higher than it should so after every shower I have to squeegee the inch of water that didn’t drain. It angers me every single day. Every day. I finally asked my brother how much it would be to remodel and it’s way more than I’m willing to spend. Some day I will have a dreamy, white spa like bathroom, but this is probably not that house.

Both bathrooms need to be painted. This is an easy one! I have the paint, but by the time I was done painting everything else, I was worn out. I just need to pick a weekend and get it done! But I can’t seem to find a weekend with a full day open so I can crank them both out. This winter?

I very quickly replaced the dishwasher and the dryer within a week of moving in, but our crap side by side refrigerator is still here. I loved our side by side at the old house, but here, the freezer door opens right into a wall, which means you can only open it so far. It makes it very difficult to get things in and out of the freezer, or to even see what’s in there. I’ve done some research, I’ve measured the opening, but at this point I think I’m used to it. If I ever find a spare $1500 maybe then?

There’s a ton of landscaping I want to do! He did what he could, but he had no idea what he was doing and that is evident. I tried to replace and add things this summer, but the damn bunnies chewed a lot of stuff down to the ground. But, this will definitely happen next summer. I want more color!

The list of projects I want to do has grown and shrunk, depending on what is annoying me that day. I can’t even remember some of the things I wanted to change that first month! I will tackle some things, but at this point we are prioritizing travel over home remodeling. Maybe someday, especially if it will increase the resale value, but at this point, I’m really just focusing on the kitchen, since I spend so much time there. Although if you ever hear about me renting a jack hammer, you know the slate tile has finally pushed me over the edge!


Leave a Reply

