The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

New Camera!

on September 6, 2016

I took my camera in to National Camera Exchange Thursday afternoon. At that point I didn’t have much hope that they would be able to fix it. The camera guy confirmed that pretty quickly (and also confirmed it was the rain that did it). They could fix it, but it wasn’t worth the cost considering the age and model of my camera.

I had done a little research beforehand and started asking about the various Canon Rebel models. The T6’s that they are selling everywhere for cheap are fairly worthless (in his opinion). He tried to find me a used T5 but they didn’t have any. Rather than wait for one to roll in, I started asking about the T6i. He got VERY excited when I mentioned that model. It’s a fairly large upgrade from the camera I had, better internal parts, faster, much higher ISO options, wireless, more focus options, and video!

laney_

I snapped a few shots when the girls got home to try it out. I was thrilled with the quality of the pictures! To be fair, it’s probably exactly the same as my old camera would have taken, but they looked super crisp on my new flippable LCD screen.

laney_-2

It’s in lower light and action that the new camera will really shine. I’m excited to try it out on those conditions. I also bought a mid-range 55-250mm lens. I needed something with a bit more zoom for those times when I want a picture of the loon across the lake, but didn’t want to spend a ton of money on it. He gave me three options and explained the pros and cons of each. I really couldn’t have asked for a better camera expert to help me through this process!

I haven’t taken very many pictures this summer. The majority of it has been lack of inspiration, but I think most of all I was bored. I’m hopeful this new camera will inspire me to pull it out more often.


One response to “New Camera!

  1. Sue says:

    I think they look sharper, Ernie. Enjoy the new camera.

Leave a Reply

