The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Travel Planning

on August 12, 2016

Last week when I was in California I wondered once again, how is it that I’ve never brought my kids out here? I love California, it is absolutely one of my favorite places, and yet, in all of our trips I’ve never been able to figure out how to get us out there. One of the problems is that I always try to make it a long weekend, and with the time difference, that’s difficult. But the other is that there are just so many places I want to take the girls! It’s hard to fit it all in.

delaney beach-6

If it were up to me, we’d spend a week in Mexico on the ocean every winter, and a week up at the lake every summer. While I love to travel, I’m also a creature of routine and I love the water. But when I start thinking about all of the places I want to take the girls, I realize we can’t fall into those ruts. We have to branch out! I need to be intentional when planning our trips.

Here is what is on our list right now. We are heading to Arizona in November to see my parents. We’ll go to New York next June once school is out. I’m still debating on whether or not we’ll go somewhere for spring break, but if we do, it will be to Universal Studios in Florida for Harry Potter World (along with some beach days tacked on?). Delaney is CRAZY obsessed with Harry Potter right now (she is finishing up book 8 as I type this) and so I feel like now is kind of the time to go? And yet, funds.

Beyond those trips, I have my eye on Hawaii and Europe (specifically Paris, I’d love to go for a few months and also hit Italy and Germany). Those are trips we’ll have to save and plan for more than others, so they are probably 4 and 8 years out? Next summer I’m thinking of possibly taking a road trip to the Black Hills. It seems like we should do that since we’re so close. Obviously San Diego needs to happen soon. I keep thinking about a summer trip out to Maine or the Cape or Nantucket or one of those islandy places, and we should probably visit Vancouver in case we need to move there.

What else should be on our list?


Leave a Reply

