The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Business

on August 8, 2016

I had a business trip last week out to Los Angeles. Normally my business trips involve a large amount of shenanigans getting the girls where the need to be, but this time it couldn’t have been easier. My parents picked them up Wednesday night, took them to the lake for a long weekend, then brought them back Sunday morning. The girls had a blast, but four nights away from them is a LONG time. I wrote notes for them to read every day, and we Face Timed every day but still. I missed them.

I used to travel out to Los Angeles a lot 10-15 years ago. Now I travel once a year or so, sometimes to San Diego, sometimes to the LA area. This trip, it was a little bit of old home week. I flew into the old Northwest Terminal 2, had dinner at the In ‘n Out next to the airport that we used to hit all the time, and stayed at the hotel we used to always stay at (Westin Bonaventure, I love that place). It reminded me that I used to travel a lot, and also that I could never travel every week like that again.

We had meetings Friday, then hit a rooftop patio to drink some good wine and chat. I’ve been with these clients for 13 years. We’ve been together for a lot of years, and definitely don’t get to just hang out often enough anymore. After wine was an amazing dinner and then … Adele! When the Adele tickets went on sale I looked for tickets in both Minneapolis and Los Angeles. Minneapolis sold out crazy fast, but I was able to grab four in LA. We were in the nosebleed seats, but we were there! She was amazing. We sang, we danced, and maybe got teary for a song or two. It was the best.

adele


Leave a Reply

