The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Backyard Zen

on August 4, 2016

img_3265

This is my view most nights. I sit at our patio table and read my book, play mancala, watch Annie chase the squirrels, and hang with the kids and pups. I love it.

You can kind of see the flowers and shrubs at the back of the yard, they are a mess. The previous owner took out the rock back there (thank you!) and planted a lot of stuff, but he didn’t really know what he was doing (so says my neighbor). There are large shrubs planted in the front, with smaller plants right behind them that you then cannot see. Lots of day lilies planted randomly, with hostas in between them (which again, you cannot see because they are short).

I’ve added a few strategic flowers that will add color, and am plotting what to do next year. I don’t love the day lilies, but there are a lot of them so I’m considering moving them all to the back. There was not a lot of spring blooms, so I need to add that in, and I’m waiting to see what it looks like this fall with the sedum I planted. There are four hydrangeas, but they are not doing the best. They are always thirsty, and I think the bunnies get them. Even with Annie patrolling, the bunnies eat a lot of my stuff. It hurts. But, I’m loving being able to plant flowers in the ground and not just in pots! It’s fun to wander the nurseries and actually be able to buy the pretty perennials rather than just passing them by.


Leave a Reply

