The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Painting, Fandom, and Avocados

on August 1, 2016

I thought this was going to be a weekend where we were at the pool every day but that didn’t quite happen.

My company does a number of charity things throughout the year. In the summer we participate in a ‘Paint-a-thon’ in Minneapolis, painting someone’s house. Last year was our first year, and I think this year will be our last. It’s hard work, takes two weekends to prep and paint, and we never have enough volunteers or ladders. On Saturday we headed over and painted for about five hours. The girls were super helpful, painting the lower parts of the house with the rest of the kids.

After we left I thought for sure the girls would want to hit the pool, but they were tired and wanted to relax at home. As we were looking for a movie to watch, I realized they were playing all of the Harry Potter movies on tv. Delaney was so excited! She is on Book 7 right now (anxiously awaiting Book 8 to be delivered to our house tonight) and is so terribly into Harry Potter right now. It’s all she wants to talk about, and she was giddy watching the movie. I love how much she loves this world. I’m going to have to reread Book 7, and then Book 8 so I can discuss them with her.

Sunday we headed back to the house and painted for a few hours before finally heading to the pool. It was the perfect day for it! Our friends were there as well, so they had someone to swim with and I had someone to chat with.

All of the swimming the girls do completely dries out their hair. Last year I took them to a salon and paid $100 for them to revert the chlorine damage. This year, I was determined to do it myself. I had done a little research and decided to do an apple cider vinegar rinse, followed by an avocado mask (avocado, olive oil, and honey mashed together). The girls were appalled that we were doing this. They could not believe I was putting food on their hair! Their hair feels much better although honestly, I think having me do their shampoo and conditioner makes a huge difference as well. We’ll see how long this lasts, let’s hope I don’t have to do this every week.


Leave a Reply

