The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

The Old House

on July 1, 2016

My dad and I were at the old house a few weeks ago doing a few repairs and making sure the gutters were cleaned out. When we were there I noticed a lot of weeds so the girls and I headed back last night to do a little clean up. The massive yard was such a love/hate thing for me when I lived there. I loved it, but it was just so much to take care of. I kind of forgot about that with the renters moving in in the winter. I meant to spray for weeds in the spring but totally forgot to actually do it. And man! Were there weeds! I swear, there is something in the water over there because the weeds were way crazier than when we lived there. Even the big black maple tree seemed to have grown significantly since last fall.

Looking at the landscaping, it was very much planted for someone who was willing to water and weed. The renters mow the lawn and the inside of the house is very clean, but they are not into weeding and I don’t blame them for that. I need to rethink the landscaping and make it more low maintenance and assume whoever lives there isn’t going to plant flowers or pull the thistles.

Doing some preventive stuff in the spring will help, but we definitely need to pull the garden out. It’s been nothing but weeds and grass for me, might as well just make it grass permanently. I’m sad to lose the strawberry plants, but what can you do.

The girls love going over there and helping because they get to play in their old yard! They really, really miss having a swing set and play house and trees to climb. For me, it’s weird being there since it’s my house, and yet not my house. I lived in that house for 14 years and thought when I moved it it would be very emotional, but it wasn’t at all. I loved that house for a long time, but it was definitely time to move on.


Leave a Reply

