The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Standard

on June 28, 2016

Horse camp just about killed us last week. The girls love horses and they were so excited to be around them, but it was all very emotional and exhausting. Every night someone would have a 30 minute meltdown, there was lots of crying. Luckily we were staying home for the weekend so I tried to keep it low key. We had one really awesome day and one horrible day, which thinking back, is generally how our weekends at home go.

After the horse show on Friday we came back so I could get some work done. Delaney really wanted to go to the half price bookstore so we could pick up the last three Harry Potter books for her to read. I have no idea what happened to my copies of books 5, 6, and 7, but they are missing and she had just finished book 4 so off we went. Since it was hot out, no one was super hungry so after the bookstore we headed straight to the pool. I ordered a cider beer and chips and guac, and sat in the shade writing out my grocery list. It was bliss.

Saturday we cleaned! I am horrible at really keeping up with cleaning when we are out of town on the weekends, so we had lots of catching up to do. I have found that if I make a list and let the girls pick their jobs, there is less whining. After grabbing groceries, we once again headed to the pool. It was 93 degrees out and the pool felt divine! We lounged on our noodles and relaxed until the wind got crazy. We were supposed to get bad storms, but they went north of us. With no rain after dinner, I made a fire and hung out with the dogs outside. Annie and Lark played and played and chased and played. It was so good for them to get their energy out! Lark was so relaxed from all of the exercise that she played with a toy. Big progress for her. Once the fire was ready for s’mores, we had a little dance party and I thought about how fabulous the day was and how much I loved our new house. It was a banner day.

Sunday sucked. Caden really wanted to go roller skating, but we had decided as a family to go to Canterbury Park for the horse races. She was not a fan of that decision, but I did not have the energy to deal with roller skating. Overall, the day wasn’t awful, there were good moments. Church was nice, although they did not like it when I wanted to discuss how the sermon affected them. Canterbury was fun and we even won one of our bets! But they argued a ton, and they are in such selfish phases and it drives me bonkers, not to mention exhausts me from all the tattling and refereeing. After dinner flopped I put them to bed at 8:30 with instructions to read and stay quiet.


2 responses to “Standard

  1. Heather says:

    I’m glad to read I’m not the only one who has one good day and one bad pretty much every weekend!

  2. Keri says:

    Sounds about like like at our house. We have had my step daughter and her brother here for over 2 weeks. Things have been going very well up until yesterday. We talked, got the bigs outta their butts and set out for adventure today. Between the bickering, whining, tattleing…..I had to have Jim pull the car over so I could get out, walk and breathe. Im sure I looked like an insane person but it stunned the kids into submission. Lol

Leave a Reply

