The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Horse Camp!

on June 20, 2016

Last year the girls did a horse camp at Camp Christmas Tree and while it was fun, it was really basic. When I tried to register them for the next level up, I realized they couldn’t do that level until they were a year older. Repeat the basic level that they’d just done? No thanks. I went on the hunt and found a few horse camps run by horse stables near us. I narrowed it down to two and let the girls pick. Once we were registered, they asked if we wanted to do a private lesson before camp to get them familiar with everything. Obviously this is an excellent marketing ploy and we totally went for it. Their lesson was Friday night and it was so fun!

Apologies in advance. These were taken inside, a mix of my phone and camera, and it was storming outside so no light. I doubt I’ll get to take many pictures of camp though, so I wanted to get at least a few!

horses

I knew from talking to other people that the girls would have to brush and saddle their horses themselves. They loved doing this! They took their jobs very seriously. This is Caden with Snowflake. Snowflake was on the smaller side which worked well.

horses-2

With all of her gear on leading Snowflake out to the riding arena.

horses-3

Unfortunately, this was the best pic I got of Caden riding. They did some walking/steering and then got to trot at the end.  They were both so excited about that part!  The camp requested that they wear boots with a heel, so we found them both cowboy boots at Target. I’m hopeful they will possibly fit next year too!


horses-4

Delaney’s horses name is Sassy. Aren’t her spots gorgeous! Because we were headed up to the lake after their lesson, I had Midas with me. Sassy was very interested in Midas, Midas wanted nothing to do with Sassy. Sassy was an awesome horse for Delaney though, I hope she gets to ride her all week.

horses-5

Essentially, the girls will be a day ahead of their camp mates when camp starts tomorrow. I was glad the trainer got to see them ride ahead of time, and can better match them with horses for the week, and now the girls just get to be excited, rather than excited and nervous. Each day they’ll spend about an hour riding.  The rest of the time is brushing the horses, giving them a bath, cleaning up the barns, and doing crafts and activities. This camp is on the expensive side, but I think it will give the girls some quality time with horses. We can’t do riding lessons on the regular, but this camp is definitely doable one week a summer.


One response to “Horse Camp!

  1. Kristen says:

    I’ve been browsing online more than three hours
    nowadays, yet I by no means found any fascinating article
    like yours. It’s lovely worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters
    and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet can be much more helpful
    than ever before. http://www.yahoo.net

Leave a Reply

