The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Staying home

on June 17, 2016

I love the YMCA dearly, but it is very go go go and my kids end up exhausted. Pair that with late bedtimes due to softball games or weekends at the lake, and my kids are a mess. The last two summers I’ve tried to figure out how to not end up with two exhausted kids, with no real solution. Some kids may do fine with crazy active summers, mine do not, so I knew I needed to come up with something.

This year I decided to keep the girls home on Thursdays. I did this a time or two last summer and it worked really well. I could never have done this when they were younger, but now they’re old enough to entertain themselves without needing me to referee. They get to sleep in, I still get my work done, and I don’t have to leave the house! It sounds like a small thing, but it’s so nice not to have to stop what I’m doing to take them to and from the Y.

Yesterday they watched some cartoons, played Minecraft, played with their Beados, got in a game of Life, and read their books. Delaney even did some weeding for me! I had hoped to take a break mid-morning to take the dogs for a walk, but appointments and conference calls got in the way. Eventually, I’m hoping we can hit the pool for a little swimming and dinner as well.


Leave a Reply

