The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Birthday Girl

on May 18, 2016

It was my birthday yesterday! Birthdays are weird when you get older, right? But, my kids are getting older now and oddly that has made my birthday a lot more fun.

The girls did not get me any presents for my birthday which was fine by me. There was nothing I wanted, and it was good to talk about presents we can give that don’t cost any money. The night before they asked me what I wanted and we came to an agreement. They really wanted to make me breakfast in bed, but that isn’t really my thing. I love when we all eat breakfast together in the kitchen. I requested that they take the dogs out in the morning, then make me breakfast. They were very excited.

Delaney has clearly been watching in the kitchen, because she turned out sauteed spinach with two perfectly cooked over easy eggs like she’s been doing it all her life! I was VERY impressed. She even fried up some diced pancetta to sprinkle over the top! Plus, we were all up a little earlier than normal, so we were able to take our time and have a relaxed morning. It was the best way to start the day.

I took a coworker out for her annual review lunch at one of my favorite restaurants, stopped in to get my free Starbucks coffee in the morning, and my free Caribou iced tea in the afternoon. As a girl who loves her freebies, it was pretty much a perfect day!


2 responses to “Birthday Girl

  1. Damita says:

    Delaney just put me to shame. I need to step up my breakfast cooking game.

    • Erin says:

      It took me 30 years to perfect over easy eggs and she has it down by age 8! (My trick is to put a little water in the pan and cover it, so it steams them and cooks the top.)

Leave a Reply

