The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Man Down

on December 14, 2015

caden 1

Saturday morning Delaney woke me up at 7:00am saying that Caden needed me in the bathroom. It was an odd request, so I hustled to the bathroom to find a sick Caden over the toilet. Ouch. Her tummy was not happy. She relaxed on the couch for an hour and then attempted some juice. That did not go well. We were scheduled to go to the Nutcracker with my mom down in Mankato, so I dressed her in sweats, packed her dress and tights, and we headed down. She slept the entire drive, and then crashed on the couch at my parent’s house. The rest seemed to do her well, and she rallied for some soup and chicken fingers at lunch.

caden 2

Lucky girl had a very willing snuggle monster keeping her company!

girls + grammy

It’s always hard to get good pictures in the winter. Either there isn’t any light, or we have our coats on. I wanted a few shots before we headed into the theater, so I asked the girls to unzip their jackets and pose with Grandma. Isn’t this a great picture? If only I could photoshop out the cars and their coats. After I took this shot I looked at it on the back of my camera and noticed that Caden was white as a sheet! I said “Caden, you’re a little pale. You feeling okay?” She replied “I’d like to go home now.” So much for the rally.

We called my dad and he picked her up. After a nap she rallied again, but I was wiser this time and limited her food to soup. (She felt vaguely awful the rest of the day, slept on the ride back home, took a bath then went to bed early. Luckily, she was totally fine on Sunday.)

nutcracker

The three of us had a fabulous time at the Nutcracker! Back in the day, I took ballet lessons at the Mankato Ballet Company. We put on the first Nutcracker in Mankato in 1985, so this was the 30th anniversary. Obviously, every time we see the Nutcracker I think back to when I danced in it, but this time we talked about which parts I danced, and tried to remember the names of the girls I danced with. It was a crazy walk down memory lane! I have to say, the performance was amazing. They had a live orchestra! The costumes were superb (we had hand me down costumes from some other ballet company), and the dancers did a really great job. I was very impressed! Delaney loved loved loved it. She was on the edge of her seat for a lot of it. We were in the third row, so we had a perfect view of the stage, and we could see the orchestra pit!

My mom and I have talked for years about seeing this version of the Nutcracker. I’m so thankful she was on top of the ticket situation and made it happen this year! It was really special day for me and Delaney. Thanks Mom!


One response to “Man Down

  1. Grammy says:

    What a special day! It couldn’t be 30 years ago that my little dancer took the stage??!! Wonderful to share this performance with her.

Leave a Reply

