The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

New Closet!

on December 2, 2015

One of the things I was really excited about in this house was the master suite. No more sharing a bathroom with the girls! And a walk in closet! It was more than I had hoped for when house hunting. The guy I bought the house from had a lot of clothes. A LOT. He had clothes in every square inch of the master closet, and one of the closets in the bedroom upstairs. He had so many clothes that it was hard to see the master closet. I knew I would have to wait until I closed to really get a feel for things. After closing I walked through the house and when I got to the master closet I twirled around and shook my head. What on earth did these people put in here? This was easily the most inefficiently planned out closet ever, using the cheapest materials ever. First, there were no rods to hang things on, you had to slot the hangers in between the wires. What the what? Also, with the way things were laid out, you could either hang things or use the wire shelves, but not really both. The previous owner hung everything, but I don’t have a ton of hanging stuff so that didn’t make sense for me. Also, there was just a lot of wasted space. Definitely a huge letdown.

My dad and I chatted about the potential projects, and redoing the closet was high on the list. It wouldn’t be a ton of work for him, but would give me a much better space. He had an unexpected lull between projects, so he cranked it out and last Saturday he installed it! I have had a tiny closet for the last 14 years, so having all of this space is so exciting.

closet c2

It’s incredibly hard to photograph a closet! The closet is shaped like an L, and this is what you see when you walk in. Before, this space was completely wasted. Now, I have so much space! Shoes are on the left, and I’m slowly filling the shelves that are straight ahead. I think I’m going to rearrange things here eventually, I’d really like this area to look neat and nice.

closet c1

A better view of the shoe shelves clean and empty.

closet c3

This is the area to the right as you walk in. Two rods to hang shirts and pants to the right, long hanging on the left, an area for purses and more shelves for my sweaters. I need to change out the light bulb in this area. It’s a little dark and hard to see. The good is that there is more than enough room for all of my clothes here, with plenty of room so that I can really see everything.

My parents have really gone above and beyond with this whole get the house on the market and move to a new house. They’ve given up weekends to organize and do projects, and they have bent over backwards to help me feel comfortable in the new house. The closet is another one of those things where my dad knew how disappointed I was with the master closet, and he hustled and pulled this together for me. I really didn’t know what I wanted beyond lots of shelves and room for my shoes and purses. He took that and ran with it! I love my new closet! It’s so nice to have part of the house that is just for me. Thanks Dad!


5 responses to “New Closet!

  1. Grammy says:

    A labor of love…

  2. Damita says:

    I know this is a long shot, but are your parents in the market to adopt a 42 year old woman from Texas?

  3. Curt Krohn says:

    I love doing things for you and I always have great help.

Leave a Reply

