The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Age 7.5

on November 17, 2015

This age has kicked my butt. In a lot of ways it reminds me of 3.5, with all of the questions and the arguing and the drama surrounding every little thing. There are so many tears! Every day. She’s the worst sister ever, I’m the meanest mom ever, she’s never speaking to her sister, never playing with her sister again! Oof. And then the disobedience. You’d think I worked them from sun up to sun down with how every request I make is met with sighs and growls and I don’t want to! Honestly, just brush your hair.

The other thing that has thrown me off balance with this age is the need to be alone, to be away from me. So many times lately they go into their room and shut the door to play. Or tell me to leave. They wanted to play with their magnatiles Sunday so I asked if they wanted to play with them upstairs where it was sunny. Sure, but then they said they wanted to play by themselves and could I leave? I walked outside to take pictures of them scootering and was met with glares and disdain. They let me take a few pictures, but then asked that I go back inside. If this attitude stays until they’re teenagers it’s going to be a looooong ten years.

Tell me it gets better!


Leave a Reply

