The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Blast from the Past

on October 26, 2015

A few weeks ago my realtor told me that the people who used to live in my house (not the people I bought from, the family before them) realized the house was up for sale and wanted to know if any future open houses were planned so they could walk through the house. We weren’t planning any more open houses, so I emailed her to set up a time for them to come over.

The very first house I bought, I was the third owner. The original woman lived in it forever, then a single guy bought it, then me. From him, I knew the entire history of the house, which I loved. I didn’t know much about this house, and I had some questions! So I was excited to talk to them.

They bought the house from the original owners, which would make us the fourth family to live here. As we walked through the house she kept saying “I painted that. I refinished that. I painted that room so many times!” She said before they sold the house, she painted every surface in the house, even the walls in the closets! Yikes. She was dedicated.

She brought pictures of the house which was so cool. Right now, the entire exterior is painted a light brown, taupey color. Back then, part of the siding plus the bricks was white, and the rest was blue. I had seen blue paint when we removed the deck, so it was fun to see it in the pictures. They were the ones who put on the deck, but they were excited to see the paver patio. I told them of all the critters that lived under that darn deck, so they understood the need to remove it.

When I first moved in, the original owner of my house lived across the street. She told me that there used to be a fireplace in the corner of the living room. I was always bummed that someone ripped that out, because I would have loved a fireplace! I was excited to ask them about the fireplace and get the scoop. They put it in, and it was just a free standing wood stove. Oddly enough, it was very similar to one that I grew up with. Definitely not the romantic fireplace of my dreams, so probably best that someone else ripped it out.

One of the sons came along as well. He had SO many stories about growing up in the house, and all of the shenanigans he and his brothers got in to! I laughed and shook my head. I don’t think my girls will have stories like that if we ever come back and walk through this house.


One response to “Blast from the Past

  1. Grammy says:

    What a neat experience for both you and the former owner. Now the little house has some history to pass on.

Leave a Reply

