The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

No Clothes Buying – 10 months in

on October 22, 2015

This year I embarked on a challenge to not buy any new clothes for myself. I also wanted to really limit how many clothes I buy the girls. Shopping had gotten out of control and everyone had way too much stuff. Time to simplify.

This post from three months in covers the basics perfectly. The first 3-6 months were the toughest. Shopping had become so routine, it was hard to break that habit. I also found myself trying to find loopholes. When summer rolled around I realized that I only had a few t-shirts. Surely I couldn’t make it through the summer with five t-shirts? Turns out, you can! I forced myself to wait and see if I really did need more and in the end, realized I didn’t. When we put the house up for sale I had to really pare down my clothing to fit into one dresser instead of two. I have loved having fewer clothes to choose from when I get dressed. It makes decision making easier, and I don’t feel guilty because I wear everything I have. Once we move I will be making another trip to Goodwill.

Now that we’re 10 months in, not buying anything has become the norm rather than the exception. In the early months I stayed away from the mall. Now, I can go shopping and look at clothes and all that runs through my mind is that I don’t need any of it. I have plenty. Even the girls have started saying they don’t need any more clothes. I love that this is trickling down to them, because lately I have found myself thinking I need to shop more for them when truly, I don’t.

On the numbers front, I spent $3,643 on clothes last year through October. This year, $1,400. That number probably wouldn’t be as high except the girls’ shoes have gotten Expensive.

If you’re interested in changing your habits, or you’re like me and you love to analyze your life and why you do what you do, I highly recommend Gretchen Rubin’s book Better Than Before: Mastering the habits of our Everyday Lives. I loved this book! I loved the analysis, I loved learning more about myself, and it was really thought provoking. It took me a bit to get through, but it was worth it. The book made me realize that, similar to when I did my first Whole30, I needed the very strict black and white nature of the challenge. I needed to be an Abstainer and not partake even a little. But now, I know how much better I feel without sugar, without all these extra clothes, so I can be more moderate about things. I’ll still finish this challenge through the end of the year, but I also know I’m not going to start 2016 off with a clothes buying binge at the local mall.


2 responses to “No Clothes Buying – 10 months in

  1. Stacy says:

    I agree. We used to go to Target almost weekly & walk out with a $100 tab. Now, we go on average once a month. If I need something, I use Amazon and get only what I need. Our monthly “misc” spending is down nearly 50%!

Leave a Reply

