The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Stuff

on September 22, 2015

When I walked through my house with the realtor to figure out what needed to be done before we put the house on the market, I figured he would tell me to take a few personal pictures down, and maybe to reorganize the toys. Not quite. Every room we went into he wanted furniture removed. This dresser, that bookcase, that cabinet, that bookcase, this cabinet. All I could think was – How did we accumulate so much stuff??

Every night I would tackle another closet, another part of the house, removing things that we didn’t need. I made a lot of trips to Goodwill. A lot of trips. With every trip, I could breathe a little easier. There was less clutter in the house, and more space. I had no idea how I needed that space!

I’m not a hoarder. I don’t keep things. I regularly purge and sell things or take them to Goodwill. And yet, we had stuff everywhere and it was taking over our house. Art supplies, easter baskets, purses, and so many random things that I was hanging on to for no good reason. Cabinets upon cabinets full of stuff. It felt so incredibly good to finally get rid of it! The crazy thing is that I read multiple simple living blogs that are all about simplifying your space and living with less. And yet, I was clearly not practicing any of that!

After I made an initial pass through the house my mom came up and we did more cleaning and organizing. Then I ordered a POD and we moved all the excess furniture there, and packed up as much other stuff as we could. With every thing that left the house, I felt better and better.

You know what is the best part? The house is so much easier to keep clean now! I had no idea! All those toys that the girls rarely played with but that made the whole room look junky? Gone! (In the POD so they’ll come back. Maybe.) With so much open space anything that gets left out is super obvious, and so it also gets put away quickly. I was crazy worried about keeping the house clean for showings, so this revelation has been life changing and will absolutely be something we carry forward in our next house.

This whole ordeal has been such a learning experience. It’s amazed me how much I’ve learned about myself at every step, and it’s clear I needed this to really make some changes. I’ve told my mom to hold off on any decorating ideas for the new house, because I intend to be very intentional about everything that makes it’s way into the new house. I don’t want to just unload all of the junk without being thoughtful about if it really needs to be there, and I don’t want to buy anything without really thinking the purchase through.


2 responses to “Stuff

  1. Scott says:

    Any pictures of the new house?

  2. […] When we cleaned out the old house in order to put it on the market, it was like finally being able to breathe inside that house again. That house had some great closets, and we filled them to the brim. We also accumulated dressers and toys in every nook and cranny. […]

Leave a Reply

