The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Exhausted

on August 26, 2015

This has been an exhausting summer. I don’t know what was different about this year, but we are all completely exhausted. We’ve been out of town most weekends, and our weeks have been go go go as well. We’re all tired, we’re all yawning, we’re all done.

More and more there have been tears for no good reason other than the girls are exhausted and just can’t deal. I’ve found myself snapping at them for no reason as well. Last night Delaney was staring and Caden looked so awful I made her take her temperature three times to prove she wasn’t running a fever.

I love all of the field trips they go on with the YMCA, and so do the girls. Every night as we walk to the car Delaney tells me “Mom. I really want to go back to (wherever the field trip was that day) with you soon. I loved it so much!” But those field trips, those activities, the swimming, mean the girls are in nonstop motion. Today would have been a site day, meaning crafts and activities, swimming, and a trip to the library, and yet I knew even that was more than the girls could handle so I kept them home. They’ll have Wednesday and Thursday to stay home, relax in the sun, and recharge. Hopefully it will be enough to get us through the last week before school starts. The last thing I need is for them to get sick because they’re completely run down!


Leave a Reply

