The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Sous Chef

on August 14, 2015

  

Mornings can be crazy. Our house is a ranch, so most of our living is done on one floor. We share a bathroom, and the kitchen is a galley style, so there’s a lot of bumping into each other. One of the things I’ve been trying to do is get the girls to be more independent about their breakfast. That way they can be in the kitchen before me, and there’s less congestion. They are pros at toasting waffles, reheating pancakes, and putting jelly on toast. They tear their waffles into pieces and dip their pancakes into syrup, so that I don’t need to cut everything for them. It’s amazing. But, I still needed to make their eggs. My kids love eggs, we eat a lot of them in this house. Often they will start with one, but then realize they’re still hungry. By that time I usually have to abandon my hot breakfast in order to make them another egg.

But no more!

I realized it’s not that hard to make an egg, and they’ve watched me do it enough times. We walked through the steps and they will be getting a line cook job at the nearest breakfast spot very soon. They both like their eggs either scrambled or hard, so no crazy flipping necessary and it’s perfect if the yolk breaks when they crack it into the pan. You have no idea how much this has changed things for us!


4 responses to “Sous Chef

  1. Sue says:

    I hear they’ve also had plenty of practice with Grampy at the lake.

    • Keri says:

      Tupperware makes an amazing little egg cooker too. I believe you can put up to 3 eggs (we usually do 2 at most) and whatever fixins you might like (my girls like diced ham and cheese in theirs). Cook for 2 to 3 min and instant omelette! No spraying the container or anything and the girls had that down in no time. I dont panic quite as much when they use the microwave, especially when my oldest babysits the 7 year old if I have to work away from home for a couole hours.

  2. Scott Grunst says:

    Ditch the butter and go to Olive Oil Spray!

Leave a Reply

