The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Buds

on August 6, 2015

  

When we first brought Lark home Annabelle was jealous and not happy at all about having to share her space. She did not want Lark on any of her (three) beds, in her crate, or near her people. She wasn’t mean to her, but she definitely showed her displeasure. Sunday they played together a bit, but it was hard to tell if anyone was actually enjoying the playing or if it was more territorial. Lark was definitely being submissive and putting up with Annie. I even told Delaney that I felt like maybe Annie needed to be the only dog in the house.

Fast forward to Tuesday and their whole relationship clearly did a 180. After we got home we let them both outside. Lark immediately started running around the yard (she had run only once before this, and it was more of a little jog along the fence line). Annabelle saw this and chased her and the next thing I knew they were very clearly playing and chasing and having so much fun. It was so sweet to see on both sides! So good to see Lark come out of her shell and be a dog, rather than just sit in one spot and watch as she’d been doing. And so good to see Annie having fun with another dog.

We’ve been spending a lot of time on the patio because I’m not comfortable leaving Lark outside by herself, and Lark LOVES being outside. At least I think she does. If she’s outside, she stays outside. If she’s inside, she stays inside. She’s only come outside once on her own, and she’s never gone inside on her own. But, she seems very happy outside, even if she’s just curled up and watching everyone. Plus, after two years in a cage in a puppy mill, I’m guessing outside time feels pretty good, so we do what we can to give her as much as possible.

Wednesday night Annabelle slept with Delaney for a while. When I checked on them before going to bed she was awake and clearly want off the top bunk, so I brought her to bed with me and Lark. Lark had been bed hopping since she got to our house, but this was the first time she was sleeping in my bed. Annie was so excited! She kept trying to play, and wrestle, and play with Lark. She tried to cuddle up with her. It was adorable. In all of this, I didn’t expect Annabelle to be the one lobbying the hardest for us to adopt Lark! (I’m still holding steady on not adopting her, but it’s made me realize that Annabelle would do really well with another dog. It’s also great exercise for both since they chase each other around the yard. I’m trying to keep an open mind though! I’d hate to be six months down the road and realize we should have adopted her.)


4 responses to “Buds

  1. Grammy says:

    Two cute little peas in a pod.

  2. Amy says:

    You were a 2, and even 3, pet household for many years. 😉

    • Erin says:

      3 pets! Oh, Billy the cat. I’d forgotten about those days.

      I think the part holding me back from adopting her is that I want to foster more dogs, but I’ve realized as long as the dog was small, we could probably handle three. We’ll give it a little more time and see what happens.

  3. Sue says:

    Oh oh!! I think I see the “writing on the wall”. haha

Leave a Reply

