The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Lark

on August 3, 2015

lark 3

Meet Lark, our first foster dog!

Fostering has been on my mind since our search last year. The girls are such animal lovers that it seemed to make sense. We are fostering with the rescue organization that we adopted Annabelle from, Underdog Rescue, and they require that you bring the dog to two adoption events a month. During the summer I worried about that commitment since we’re gone so much, but now that summer is winding down, it seemed more doable. I had planned on waiting a few more weeks, but then Lark’s picture showed up on the Facebook page saying she needed a foster home, and I knew the time was now.

lark 2

Lark is a dream. She’s two years old and weighs maybe five pounds. She came from a puppy mill and what you can’t see in the pictures is that she’s fairly underweight. Even with all of that, she’s the most chill dog I’ve ever met.

She lets the girls carry her everywhere, but they’ve gotten distracted a few times and so she’s had time to roam the yard and house. She sniffs around a bit, but then settles into a spot at the corner of the patio and relaxes and watches everyone. She seems content, but I do wonder what is going through her head right now.

lark 1

My parents are sure that we are going to adopt her, but I’m holding fast to just fostering her. If we adopt her, then our fostering days are done since I don’t want more than two dogs in the house, and I feel like there are more dogs out there that we can help. Lark has clearly had a rough first two years of her life, and I want nothing more than to help her find her perfect forever home.

If you’re local and you’re interested in Lark please let me know! She’s very friendly, great with kids, and a total sweetheart.


3 responses to “Lark

  1. Grammy says:

    Lark is a very lucky dog! She has that look in her eyes that says, “just please love me!”

  2. Kyla says:

    Your PARENTS should adopt her. 😀

    ( with love from your friend Kyla, the part-time sh*t-disturber 😀 )

Leave a Reply

