The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Valleyfair 2015

on July 1, 2015

  

Every age with the girls has been fun. The weird thing with twins is that you never get to experience that age again, so the current age they’re at is generally your favorite age. I feel like there is something magical about seven though. They’ve gained just a little bit more independence and they’re just a little stronger and more coordinated, and that affects everything.

We went to Valleyfair two years ago and had a blast. It’s fun, but it’s expensive, and you really need to go during the week which can make scheduling it difficult. My parents gave the girls passes for their birthday, which ensured we made a trip there this year. They are just over 48″ which made things so much easier this time around. They could go on everything they wanted to go on. The rides you needed to be taller for, they had absolutely zero interest in.

The weather could not have been more perfect. Warm and sunny, a little humid, but not too hot. The park wasn’t crowded at all, which meant little to no wait for the rides. The water park wasn’t crowded either! The wave pool was a huge hit with both girls, and I loved the big water slide. It was nice to cool off, and then to take a break and relax for a bit before heading home.

I was a bit worried this day trip would push us all over the edge and have us tired and cranky by 4pm, but it wasn’t that way at all. As we were heading for the (gluten free!) french fry stand for our afternoon snack, I commented to my mom that I felt really good. I wasn’t exhausted, my feet didn’t hurt, and because there weren’t crazy crowds, I wasn’t ready to hit anyone. The girls did awesome right up until Delaney won the whack-a-mole game (her second win) at which point Caden melted down, but she’s not the best at losing so I’ll discount that. Overall, it was a really easy, super fun day. Top ten of the summer.

(Best part? We had swimming lessons at 5:05pm. I wanted to get to them, but refused to stress about it. If we made it, we made it. Traffic was awful on the highway, but google maps sent us down some crazy backroads and we made it to the YMCA at 5:01pm! Success! And the girls took a shower and washed their hair after swimming lessons so that task is checked off as well!)


3 responses to “Valleyfair 2015

  1. Amanda says:

    So unrelated to most of this, but Google got me home from an eye doctor appointment yesterday in the strangest way! Google has gotten me lost a few times, so I was nervous! I had absolutely no idea where I was most of the time, and then suddenly I popped out on 76th at France.

    • Erin says:

      That was what happened to me too! It was weird backroads and I didn’t really know where we were and then boom! There was Minnetonka Blvd and we were two turns away from the YMCA.

  2. Billy says:

    Sounds like you are all having a most wonderful summer :-).

Leave a Reply

