The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Done! Except for the watering

on June 22, 2015

back house

I took pictures last night, but I feel like they don’t do the backyard justice. It really does look so much better now. When I bought this house 15 years ago, they put “Professionally Lanscaped!” on the brochures. I’ve always hated the landscaping. So much rock, so little color, and so difficult to change out. It’s finally the landscaping I’ve pictured since I bought the house!

The paver patio really works so much better than the deck did. Nothing living underneath it, and just a better elevation. My dad brought up more sod, so there’s just a little strip that we had to seed in front of the patio. I actually think we have a shot at getting that grass to grow now!

side garden

This used to be a much bigger garden bed, but after the pine tree fell, it just didn’t work. We made it much smaller, and planted a flowering crab tree along with the perennials I saved from before this was all dug up. We had way more than we needed, and used some of the hostas by the shed. Once the grass seed grows in and the tree perks up, this will look gorgeous.

side house

You can’t see it at all in this picture, but by the side of the house were awful shrubs and rock. I hated it all (except the lilac bush). The landscapers pulled it all out, my mom and I planted new shrubs, and then hauled in a ton of mulch. Mulch is infinitely better than rock! I love the way it looks.

From this viewpoint you can see where the lawn was tore up and needed to be reseeded, as well as where Lucy’s kennel used to be (black dirt at the very left of the photo). My brother took down her kennel years ago, but the cement pavers were still there. We pulled those up Thursday night, brought in black dirt, and then planted some hostas and grass seed. This makes my mother very happy.

We have something of an intricate sprinkler system going on right now. My dad bought a thing that allows us to attach three hoses up, except that doesn’t provide enough water pressure. Everything is still hooked up, but we ran a hose from the front of the house over to the side garden, and we’ll only turn one sprinkler on at a time on the main hose.

A huge thank you to my parents for spending Father’s Day working on this project! We started at 10am and didn’t finish until 6pm. It was a long, hard day of work! Even Annabelle was passed out under a tree by the end of the day.


3 responses to “Done! Except for the watering

  1. Grammy says:

    I’m smiling! A few aches here and there but the end result is well worth it. Now – keep it watered and weeded and you will enjoy many hours in this pretty backyard.

  2. […] say the patio was finished earlier this summer, but it doesn’t really feel finished. There are hoses strewn across it, I […]

  3. […] The house is finally painted! For reference, before posts are here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

