The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Bike Rides

on June 10, 2015

Since the girls have learned to ride without their training wheels, going for bike rides has taken on a whole new level of fun. We stopped biking around our circle (so many cars always coming and going, it was stressful) and found a bike path near the house. We do have to cross one busy street to get there, but after that it is smooth sailing and so much fun! I can’t believe it took us so long to do this, but I was never confident going too far away from home when they were on their training wheels.

Given this new level of confidence, my dad suggested we bring their bikes down to Mankato last weekend. There are a lot of bike paths near their house, and a Sunday afternoon bike ride sounded just about perfect. I borrowed Sue’s bike, and we hit the trails. The girls did awesome. We stopped by a lake to check out the baby geese and have a snack, then headed over to a playground for another break. Out last stop was Jimmy John’s for lunch. It was sunny and warm and the only downside was that I forgot sunscreen and was worried everyone was getting a sunburn. I loved it. It was the perfect family activity.

I definitely want to start doing bike rides, but need to get a bike carrier for my car so that we can travel with all three bikes. The girls will also need bigger bikes soon. I’m hoping to take them to a sporting goods store to try out a few, then keep my eye on Craigslist for a deal.


Leave a Reply

