The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Long story longer

on June 1, 2015

So I woke up Friday morning and somehow felt WORSE. How does that happen? I went to work because I just kept trudging through my morning, but as soon as I got there I realized that was a very bad decision. I stuck it out through my first meeting, then moved the rest of my afternoon and headed home. After throwing up again (TMI sorry!) I texted my mom who urged me to get to the doctor. A quick call to the nurses line affirmed that I needed to get to Urgent Care immediately.

I will spare you the long version of my urgent care story and go with the short version instead. By the time I got there I was severely dehydrated, my blood pressure was crazy low, and I was feeling more than a little panicky. The triage nurse realized I was about to faint and got me back to a room right away. Not that that made my visit shorter (4 hours), but at least I got to nap on a bed. My doctor was very thorough (two celiac kids and a gluten sensitive one, we covered my acid reflux history as well as my diet), but the final conclusion was that I had a bad case of the stomach flu. Two bags of IV fluids later, I was on my way home. Thanks to the nanny who stayed late with the girls, and my parents came up and watched them for the evening.

Saturday I still felt pretty awful, but I was on strict orders to eat bland foods and drink as much water and gatorade as I could. It’s good to have a goal. In what was a saving grace, the girls had an all day Girl Scout camp thing on Saturday. I dropped them off at 8am and they came home at 6pm. For various reasons, I made zero plans for Saturday. I had a few ideas, but I somehow knew things would get pulled out from under me and they did. My Saturday was spent on the couch. What a freaking waste! Ugh. It killed me, but I knew I needed to rest.

Sunday I felt so much better! I made bacon and eggs for breakfast, had a cup of coffee, felt like a brand new woman! The girls had a waterpark birthday party to go to, and at least this time, I knew I could get a few things done while they were gone. Did some laundry, organized a few closets, and watched the Twins game. It definitely wasn’t the socializing, exercise filled, productive weekend I thought I might have, but what can you do.

On the flip side, I really missed my kids. I know the older they get, there will be more weekends like this where they have activities they take up a lot of time but I have to say, I’m not looking forward to it! It was nice to have a little time to myself, but I did not need two days worth.


One response to “Long story longer

  1. Laraf123 says:

    I’m glad you are feeling better. That’s pretty scary!

Leave a Reply

