The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Softball possibilities

on May 14, 2015

I knew I wanted to sign the girls up to play baseball this summer. I kept meaning to talk to some of the other moms about it, to see where they were signing their kids up for, but I never did. There is the community ed stuff, but there also seems to be all of these other leagues that sometimes I know about, but most of the time I don’t. After signing them up for t-ball with community ed, I found out all the other neighborhood kids were signed up for Little League. Darn it! I knew I should have reached out.

I was bummed because I kept hearing about how great this league was and how much the kids were learning. Still, my kids had never played before and I figured easing into things with t-ball would be good. I checked out the Little League site just in case I could maybe sign them up, but found nothing.

Last night Delaney came home with a note in her folder from her friend. It said her softball game was at 6:30 at a park near our house. Softball? I didn’t even know there was a softball league! So we biked over and I chatted up the coaches and found out this team is kindergarten and first graders and it’s a totally recreational league. The coaches pitch but if the kid doesn’t hit it, they pull out the tee. Another parent recommended I see if I could sign up the girls, even though the league started a few weeks ago. I emailed them last night and they got back to me almost immediately that they had room on one of the teams! I’m so excited!


Leave a Reply

