The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

In the trenches

on May 13, 2015

I was talking with a coworker today, catching up, and he asked me how the kids were. I stared at him with wide eyes and shook my head. He just nodded and said it only gets worse!

Caden is fine emotionally, but she has torn three pairs of pants recently by climbing over things she should not be climbing over. She is also famous for asking me to make her something and then eating one bite and throwing away the rest. Or ordering a meal in a restaurant and eating two bites.

Something is going on with Delaney. Most days when she gets off the bus she goes straight for the backyard, to have some time by herself on the swings. When she does come inside she’s often cranky and wants to argue. She continually corrects me and tells me when I’m wrong, and loves to simply ignore me when I ask her to do something.

When the girls were younger and things got difficult, it was generally a matter of making sure they got more sleep, ensuring we had solid expectations and boundaries in place, or me getting a little breathing room. But I don’t feel like that is where we’re at with this.

Still, we reviewed the fact that I expect them to take care of their clothes and not to waste food and money. They’ve been told there will be no extra purchases for the foreseeable future. Not clothes or shoes or even snack food (until they eat what we have in the cupboards). And yet, last night we went out for dinner and Delaney insisted that she didn’t want the kids pizza, she needed the bigger size because she was SO hungry. She has eaten the entire kids pizza before so I ordered her the big size. She ate one piece. She will be eating that pizza every night for dinner until it’s gone.

I really have no idea what to do about the emotional stuff that’s going on with Lane, other than continue to talk to her, continue to let her know I’m here if she wants to talk, and try not to take it personally when she wants nothing to do with me. Luckily the dog still adores me, so at least I have that going for me!

This all feels like the tiniest slice into life with two teenagers and all I have to say is that I am not prepared for that at all. I definitely need to get my parenting game sharpened up before that hits.


2 responses to “In the trenches

  1. Laraf123 says:

    Honestly, I think the strategies you mention in the fourth paragraph still have plenty of value. Don’t give up on them! I wonder if your girls (and my boys ) are sensing the upcoming transition to summer (the end of old activities and beginning of new, unfamiliar ones) with a bit of trepidation and thus, displaying these behaviors. Yep, spring in the parenting trenches isn’t all that fun.

    • Erin says:

      Their teacher was at the softball game we went to and she said all the kids were tired and cranky. It’s always good to know I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

