The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Mom

on May 11, 2015

The girls have been very excited about Mother’s Day. Mother’s Day and my birthday are always a week apart, and they take these holidays very seriously now. I knew they were making presents at school, and they were making plans with my dad. We headed down to my parent’s house Saturday afternoon. On the drive down I realized we hadn’t been to my parent’s house in a really long time. My mom and I figured out it was their anniversary dinner in December!

My dad knew I was in need of a break from the kids, so he took them to see the horses and baby kitties, and my mom and I headed to a bar to have a few drinks. It’s always nice to have some time just the two of us, where we can have an actual conversation. We had dinner on the deck that night and it was the most perfect evening. Great food, great weather, great company, and I even got to talk a little baseball with my grandpa.

Sunday morning the girls brought me breakfast in bed, and then my mom and I headed out for some coffee. My dad had projects for the girls to do which let me sneak in a nap with Annabelle, and a little shopping with my mom. It was definitely a recharging weekend!

I’m not one to write the sappy posts, but I am incredibly grateful for my parents and all they do for us, the moments of respite they give. When I think about what makes my mom a great mom, it’s that she’s always there. She was at all of my things growing up. Sports, dance, school. It didn’t matter if she was in the middle of going back to college, or if she had other things she’d rather be doing, she was always there to support me. I called her after every ultrasound with the girls, and she was there when they were born. She somehow loves all of my pets as much as I do, enough to drop everything and be there with me as Lucy took her last breath. Growing up, if I wanted something, wanted to do something, she made it happen. Her love and support gave me the confidence to know that I could do anything. I can only hope my kids feel the same way about me.


3 responses to “Mom

  1. Grammy says:

    Being your mom has been a joy and an adventure! Love you to the moon (or Pluto?!) and back.

  2. Damita says:

    Happy Mother’s Day! I have to tell you, that in all the years that I’ve read your blog, I always admired the relationship that you have with your parents. It is so obvious that you guys have a great love for one another. I also see how much you love your girls and how much they love you, so I don’t think you have anything to worry about there. 🙂

  3. Sue says:

    A wonderful tribute to my dear friend. I know of the depth of her love and support for her family.

Leave a Reply

