The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Brownies

on May 6, 2015

  

Girl Scouts. I will admit, I was a little nervous about doing Girl Scouts in the beginning of the year. I had no idea how often they would meet or how involved we would need to be. But, it’s turned out to be a really fabulous thing for the girls. Our troop meets about once a month at the library. Meetings last an hour, and parents don’t need to stay. The girls have learned lessons and values that center around being a good friend and being a good person. They’ve done some fun field trips and they really loved selling cookies. Like really loved it.

Last weekend was our final meeting and the bridging ceremony from being a Daisy to a Brownie. While I’m 90% sure they’ll participate in Girl Scouts again next year, we were all fairly ready to be done. A few patches are falling off and I didn’t place everything correctly so the flower is a little misshapen. Oops. I will try harder next year.

I’m thinking about being the cookie person next year. I realize I may be crazy to do it, but I don’t have time to be a troop leader (or even co-troop leader), but I feel like my organizational skills would serve me well as the cookie person. Plus, I’d like to participate a little more than I do. We shall see.


3 responses to “Brownies

  1. Grammy says:

    Cutest Daisies ever!

  2. Damita says:

    I was my cousin’s troop cookie manager this year and I don’t think I’ll do it again. Organization is key and I think I did that just fine. What really stressed me out was when people would trade cookies and then having to pick up extra cookies and not knowing who had what, then there was trying to get the moms to pay on time! I was so stressed out, LOL. Hopefully your troop isn’t as big as mine and yours won’t have all of the issues that mine had.

    • Erin says:

      I can’t believe you were your cousin’s cookie manager! Did you have to do a lot of trading with other troops or was it mostly within your troop? Our cookie manager said if you wanted to get more cookies, you had to pay money. I have no idea if that helped or not. Our troop is 10 girls maybe? And I felt like our cookie manager wasn’t super organized. I think I’m going to email and ask how much time it took. Better to know now!

Leave a Reply

