The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

The Best Snack Ever

on March 27, 2015

I used to keep a bag of almonds with me at all times. In my desk drawer, in a cupboard at home, in a bag in my purse, definitely in a bag in my backpack when travelling. Almonds were the perfect snack for me, until I realized my body no longer tolerated them. It was an incredibly sad day.

With no almonds to snack on, there has been a void in my snacking life. To be honest, this is mostly fine. I try to eat enough in my meals that I don’t need snacks, but every once in a while a meal falls short. There is a store in the skyways that sells food that is right up my alley. Lots of paleo, gluten free, dairy free stuff. I’ve tried a few things, but they’ve all fallen short and they’re expensive. Except one. Dang caramel sea salt coconut chips. I like coconut, but mostly in things, not by itself. But these chips? Pure heaven. So good and so addicting!

On Pinterest I came across a recipe that looked like copycat Dang chips. Could it be? I pinned them and figured I would make them at some point. When we were at Whole Foods last week Caden asked for coconut chips from the bulk bins. It was such an insanely random request I said yes, and we made the chips when we got home.

They were so easy and quick to make. You melt 2 tablespoons coconut oil, and mix with a sweetener. I did 1 tablespoon honey and 1 tablespoon maple syrup. When I make them again I think I’ll heat those up too, so things are a little runnier and coat the chips better. Toss the chips, sprinkle with salt a few times, and bake on a parchment lined pan for 10 minutes or so, turning them every few minutes. We let them dry for a few hours, and then everyone devoured them. Both girls loved them, which I love because they are a good, healthy snack. I took them to work and my coworkers agreed they could easily pass for the Dang chips. Winner!


Leave a Reply

