The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

We bought a piano!

on February 23, 2015

piano 1

The girls have been talking about wanting to take piano lessons for six months or so. I dismissed it for two reasons. First, when would we fit piano lessons in? Second, don’t pianos cost a ton of money? Not in the budget.

They recently completed piano lessons in music class at school and they talked of nothing else the entire time. The school district has keyboards that go from school to school, so they actually got to practice a few times a week on them. They learned the basic keys and notes, and came home and played me their songs on our tiny keyboard.

Hearing Delaney talk about how much she loved music (because it’s like math, they’re both about numbers!) gave me the push I needed to go out and at least look to see how much a piano would cost. Turns out, you can get a piano for not a crazy amount of money.

piano 2

I found a wide array of pianos on Craigslist. Some for not much money, some for a lot, some had moving included in the price even! I looked through a ton of listings but knew when I saw this piano that this would be the one for us. It was clearly in great shape and had been maintained and tuned throughout its life. The woman selling it had sold her house and needed to get rid of it. The price seemed too cheap to be true, but we went and checked it out and it was perfect. Everything is in great shape, and the piano is beautiful.

piano 3

My dad was planning on coming up to hang out with us on Sunday, so I asked if he thought we could move it. He wasn’t thrilled, but with a little muscle from one of the guys I work with (and the neighbor boy!) we did it!

And now, we need to figure out piano lessons. I’m hoping to possibly find someone who will come to the house? Otherwise Saturday morning lessons will probably be what we go for. I had thought the babysitter could take them after school, but with the time we have, I don’t think we can make that happen.

The girls are beyond thrilled. They are so excited about this and are both taking things very seriously. Caden said she really wants to be a famous musician someday, so perhaps this will be the thing that kickstarts her career.


4 responses to “We bought a piano!

  1. Jill says:

    Pippa’s piano teacher is the organist from our church and he comes to our house. It makes it so much more manageable to cut out the coming and going. Willingness to practice comes and goes, but overall it’s been a good experience for us.

    Congrats! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  2. Laraf123 says:

    Very exciting!–this is great for your girls! I really want my boys to learn but I don’t think I can fit a real piano in our tiny house. They may have to settle for the violin!

  3. Scott Grunst says:

    I was hoping one of the girls would want a drum set!

Leave a Reply

