The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Content

on January 7, 2015

I wanted 2014 to be the year I took action. I kind of did that. I got clarity on some decisions, and the realization that other decisions needed more thought, and we definitely did a lot of things that I had been wanting to do. Overall though, I still feel a little in limbo on things, and that uncertainty takes up a lot of mental energy and I’m kind of over it. I’m a planner, and instead of worrying, I have a tendency to run through all the scenarios and try to research my way through things.

And so for 2015, I want to be content with what I have. I want to enjoy this house and the yard and stop looking at houses for sale that I’m not in a position to buy. I want to focus on my project and stop trying to figure out what should be next for me career wise. I want to be content with the things we have, and stop shopping needlessly.

That last one has led me to a challenge that I didn’t even know I was seeking. A personal finance blog I read recommended another personal finance blog that is all about saving, so I went over to check it out and what was the first article? What a year without clothes did for me. She went a year without buying any clothes! No workout clothes, no casual clothes, nothing. As I was reading the post it really resonated with me and before I got to the end I knew this was something that I needed to do.

I have a shopping problem. When I did a No Spend January I realized that I don’t like my stockpile of food to get too low. That extends to clothes as well, especially if it’s a good deal! The girls have way more clothes than they need, as do I.

My goal is to make it an entire year without buying clothes for me, and six months without buying clothes for the girls. I think both goals are incredibly doable. I’ve bought a fair amount of clothes for myself, and definitely don’t need anything. As far as the girls go, I had them try on the t-shirts that they wore last year and they still fit. The t-shirts I bought a size up (on sale of course! can’t pass up a deal!) are way too big, and we likely won’t need them until summer 2016. So truly? We should be able to make it until September just buying a few pairs of shoes to get us through summer.

On average, I spend around $300 a month. That number is obscene! I’d much rather put that money in savings, which is exactly what I intend to do. Considering I want to move in a few years, I really want to ramp up my savings so that the next mortgage is as small as possible. We’ll likely buckle down on eating out for the first few months as well in order to kick start the year.

I have a bad habit of committing to things like this and then either quitting early, or finding loop holes. In order to remove as much temptation as possible, I have spent the first week of the new year unsubscribing to as many shopping emails as come into my inbox. It’s been so freeing!

I’m looking forward to this. I’m hoping to gain some insight into my habits, free up some mental space, and watch my savings grow.


6 responses to “Content

  1. Kyla says:

    I would looooove to do a no-clothes year, because I know I have way more than I need. Fortunately (whee!), I’m losing weight, though, so I need to be able to pick up a few items here and there so I don’t walk around with the butt of my pants at my knees. So I’ve committed to completely eliminating the size I’m exiting from my life, donating or consigning the old large size. Whittles down my over-full closet, helps to motivate me to stay the smaller size, and if I consign, I can use that $$ to buy the next smaller size.

    I really need to do the spending moratorium on my hobby. No sane person needs all these scrapbook supplies. Will consider this!

    • Erin says:

      What I love about spending moratoriums is that it’s very black and white. I need that!

      Love that you are losing weight and you definitely need to do a little shopping to make sure you’re showing off your new body!

  2. Sounds like you’re embarking on an awesome challenge! Good luck to you! And, I’m so glad to hear that my no-clothes-shopping ban post was helpful to you–that makes me so happy 🙂

  3. […] being in a mall made it difficult not to shop, especially the MOA. Party dresses had been on my mind the last few weeks, but I felt like we could […]

  4. […] in January I decided to do a challenge where I don’t buy any clothes for myself for a year. We’re three months in and […]

  5. […] year I embarked on a challenge to not buy any new clothes for myself. I also wanted to really limit how many clothes I buy the girls. Shopping had gotten out of control […]

Leave a Reply

