The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

What I Learned on Winter Break

on January 6, 2015

Last year on winter break I planned to take PTO for most of it, and work a few days from home. Of course things didn’t go as planned and I ended up working way more than I expected which cancelled out any feeling of vacation. This year I just planned to work the whole time, taking the day after Christmas off but nothing else. This didn’t work either. I worked from home most of the days, and the girls didn’t understand why I was home but not paying attention to them. Also, the house was a complete disaster with Christmas presents everywhere. I kept thinking we would organize in the evenings, but it never happened. The last of the presents was finally put away Sunday. Ugh.

I know for other people, work is a ghost town over the holidays and if they are there, there’s nothing to do. Not so for me. It never fails that whatever project I’m on is in some sort of crunch over the holidays and all hands are needed. Taking the two weeks off completely is rarely an option for me, but next year I need to plan better. At least one day at home after Christmas to get the house in order, and more childcare for the girls so we all have our space.

Last year I bought a bunch of toys that were science related, but almost everything required me to purchase more things in order to do whatever experiment the kids wanted to do. It was a nightmare. We’d get it out, and then wouldn’t be able to do anything. This year, I did more research on things and bought things that didn’t require extra purchases. We also did as many crafts as possible, and played with all the gifts as soon as possible. We painted vases, made lip balm, made dog treats, and played transformers, recorded passwords, and charged up the electronics. Last year I feel like I kept telling them we would get it out later, later, later, and I didn’t want to do that again this year.

Left to their own devices, the girls are really good at sorting through their old toys, and organizing everything. They made sell, donate, trash, and keep piles, and then put everything back in an organized fashion. They even decided which toys could go to the basement toy room. And they did it all much faster than I would have been able to do it. I mostly asked them because I was desperate, but it ended up being a really great thing for them to do. They also organized the dresser and book case in their room, which now look better than they have in a long time. I’m loving this age and just how much they can really contribute.


2 responses to “What I Learned on Winter Break

  1. Grammy says:

    Ah Ha! They did get some of Grammy’s traits.

  2. Laraf123 says:

    You know, I never thought of entrusting the task of making “trash, donate, keep” piles but now that I read about your girls’ success I think I may just try!

Leave a Reply

