The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

The Nutcracker

on December 16, 2014

Two years ago we went to the Nutcracker with my mom. It was an amazing performance, but also kind of spendy. Last year I looked for a different Nutcracker performance, but they were all more than I wanted to spend.

This year the girls have been choreographing dance routines to the Nutcracker songs, they watched it on Amazon, and they’ve read the book. Clearly, I needed to begin the hunt again. Luckily there were a few performances near us with tickets remaining. The girls were super excited!

nutcracker

When I realized I was sick on Saturday I quickly ran through our day to see what could be put off until another day. Groceries? Laundry? Baking? Sunday. The Nutcracker? I can sit in a chair for two hours right?

The girls were very excited to put on their new dresses and we headed out without a minute to spare. Luckily it was a small theater and we had time for me to grab a coffee and a water before we sat down. Both girls had brought their binoculars, so we were set.

Overall, the performance was good. The sets were really amazing and the dancers did a great job, but they made a few changes to the storyline that I felt were not needed. But, the girls loved it and it was a really nice holiday outing, so it was well worth it. Plus they sold cupcakes that had a Nutcracker picture in edible frosting and both girls ate them and didn’t get a drop of frosting on their dress! I’m a bit bummed that I felt so crappy though. The girls were so excited and all I wanted was to get home and get back in bed.

Next year my mom and I are going to stay on top of things and get tickets to the Nutcracker when my childhood ballet company performs it. Hopefully. We say that every year but next year is our year!


Leave a Reply

