The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Back at it

on December 11, 2014

I worked out incredibly consistently May – July. I felt great, I looked great, and it was a solid habit. Then a couple of things happened. First, I switched from T25 to Piyo, a pilates/yoga combo workout that was supposed to be lower impact. I just couldn’t get into it. The warm up annoyed me, I liked the middle, but I always got bored and quit before the end. It was a good workout, but I realized I needed a different type of coach.

Then, Lucy died and getting up early seemed impossible to do. Also in there my reflux flared up making sleep near impossible, and waking up early even more so. Morning workouts were out, so I ran Thursday afternoons when I worked from home.

I tried getting back into the morning workout groove, but I just couldn’t do it. Work was busy, life was busy, school was starting up, I didn’t feel the best, I was tired. You name it. Exercise seemed like one more thing to pile on and I just had no more room on my plate.

Every week I would set my alarm early, and every morning I would hit that snooze button. I knew something needed to get me out of my funk, I just couldn’t figure out how to do it.

The kicker was two things. First, we’re going to Mexico in five weeks and I’d like to feel good in my swimsuit while we’re there. Second, I was talking with a coworker and she said she exercises every day because she handles things better when she does. Work right now is a lot, and I really need to handle it better. If exercising killed two birds with one stone, then let’s do it.

I started back up on T25 last week. Those first two days were rough, but it felt good to use my muscles again. Getting up early also means I have an hour to myself in the morning before the girls wake up. That hour of peace, when it’s just me and the dog (or sometimes just me when she’s snuggled in with the girls) is heaven. I like starting my day this way, and it seems to give me what I need to handle everyone’s needs without feeling like I need to bury my head in my phone to recharge. I’m spending more time with the girls in the evenings, and my stress levels are at least a little lower.

I never thought I would be a morning person, never thought I would be a morning exerciser, never thought I would like small dogs. And yet, here we are and it feels good. Let’s just hope the first two stick for longer than a few months this time.


Leave a Reply

