The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Passports for kids, SMC edition

on November 25, 2014

Since we are heading to Mexico in January, the girls needed passports. We planned the trip a while ago, and the passports have been hanging over my head ever since. I knew it would be a bit of a pain to pull everything together to get them, so I kept putting it off.

We are near two different DMV sites, so I started out by calling them to make an appointment. Guess what? They no longer do passports! Something about the security requirements required. In our county, only certain post offices process passports. They take appointments during the week, but are only open from 10-3pm. Not super convenient. One post office does walk in’s on Saturdays and that was my intention until I realized that could be a nightmare. In the end, I kept the girls home from school one morning to get them done.

Everyone I called directed me to the travel.state.gov site. They have all of the information you need about what to bring, how big pictures need to be, and the documents to print out.

Also, everyone I talked to told me multiple times that when bringing in children, both parents need to be at the appointment. I am the only parent listed on their birth certificates so I wasn’t worried, but I’m guessing this could be an issue in other places?

A few days before our appointment we went to Walgreen’s and got our pictures done, then I filled out all of the forms. The appointment took all of 15 minutes, and mostly involved me writing out a lot of checks to various government agencies.

We got our passports in two weeks! The girls were super excited. Honestly, the hardest part of this process was figuring out where to get things done. Which post office? Where to get pictures taken? Once I booked the appointment, once I did a quick google search on passport photos, once I printed the documents, it was all very straight forward.


One response to “Passports for kids, SMC edition

  1. Laraf123 says:

    I don’t know why I am so anxious about this–seems like it was a breeze for you and the girls! Glad it worked out so well!

Leave a Reply

