The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Trip planning

on October 15, 2014

Our Chicago trip is coming together! Luckily, I have a lot of coworkers and friends who have either been to Chicago a number of times, or grew up there. I’m definitely a planner, but it’s always nice to bounce ideas off someone else.

After much debate, I bought a CityPass. I wasn’t sure it was going to be worth it, but the weather is looking windy and slightly iffy, so I went for the abundant indoor options. Also, when we talked about what everyone wanted to do, the girls got very excited about the Shedd Aquarium and the Planetarium.

I found some road trip games, and we downloaded a few tv shows, so hopefully our drive will be uneventful. A coworker of mine cannot believe I’m doing this road trip with my kids. He keeps telling me to just book a hotel in the Dells or Milwaukee and call it good when we get that far. Ye of little faith! Starbucks will get me through right?

I’ve identified the nearest Starbucks, the best gluten free cupcakes, pancakes, and doughnuts, so I feel like our meals are covered. We will not lack for sugar or caffeine on this trip. (Caden said – I really want to go to Starbucks. Um, that won’t be a problem! Starbucks is a vacation staple.)

With the transition to fall and school and all that goes with both, things have been a little crazed around our house. I’m super excited for this trip, for the mother/daughter bonding time, and for my mom to finish potty training Annabelle.


Leave a Reply

