The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Annabelle

on October 1, 2014

IMG_0779

Internets, meet Annabelle, the newest member of our family. She’s six months old, 9 pounds, and this is about as big as she’s going to get.

I’ve been searching for a new dog fairly nonstop most of September. Hitting the various rescue sites over and over and over, and then branching out to look at breeders as well. As we got more serious, I wanted to narrow our search a bit. I’d gone to the Humane Society to check out a chihuahua that our dog trainer recommended. That dog wasn’t a fit for us (scared of the girls), but it opened me up to a whole different set of breeds. On Saturday, we took a break in the yard work to go to an adoption event. My main goal was to see if I wanted to work with this organization. How were their dogs? How responsive were the people?

IMG_0809

First we went to the pen with the most dogs in it. They all scattered to the corners when they saw Caden and Delaney. The next pen was full of people, so we went to a pen with just two dogs in it. One dog made a beeline for the girls. I was busy looking at Tulip, a chihuahua that seemed like a good fit, but when I turned around I realized the other little dog was interacting really well with the girls. So I passed Tulip to my mom, and picked up ‘Esme’. She was so sweet, and clearly a dog that would be able to handle the attention of younger kids. A quick chat with her foster mom confirmed that.

Long story longer, we were able to adopt her that day. So much for actually calling my references! The foster mom followed us to our house to do a quick home visit, and Esme was ours. The foster mom asked over and over if we were sure we wanted to do this. Because I’d done my research, and because we’d really thought through what was important to us, and because I’d talked so much with the dog trainer about behavior, I felt really confident in the decision.

IMG_0808

We intended to keep Esme as her name, but once we realized she didn’t know her name at all, we changed it. We batted around a few different names, but none were right. I commented that I thought my next dog would be an Annie, and Delaney immediately said Annabelle! And so she was named.

She’s six months old, so there is definitely plenty of puppy in her, but she’s lived in a house with other dogs, so she at least knows some basic rules there. She’s not potty trained, but we’re working on it. She doesn’t know any commands, but we’ll handle that soon as well. The one thing my girls are good at, is teaching a dog her name. That she knows, since they’ve said it 14,000 times since Saturday.

ab 1

As I type this, she’s asleep on my lap. You can see from the pictures, she’s a total lap dog. When we’re away from the house she stays in her crate, but she sleeps with us at night. Sunday we wore her out, and she leapt right into the bottom bunk and curled up with Delaney all night. It’s been so sweet to watch her interact with the girls. For Annabelle, the girls are her world. She loves me, but prefers them. I love that she doesn’t overwhelm them. They can pick her up, and if she jumps up on them, it’s easy enough to redirect her.

As she’s adjusted to our house, even more of her personality has come out. So many times the girls and I have looked at each other and said “Can you believe how lucky we are?!” She is the sweetest thing ever, and we are beyond thrilled to be her forever family.


5 responses to “Annabelle

  1. Jill says:

    Hooray!! Glad you found the right fit! And the pics are adorable.

  2. Grammy says:

    Annabelle is the lucky one! So happy that I could be part of the adoption experience. Welcome to the Krohn family, Annabelle.

  3. Mita says:

    Aw, what a cutie pie! She reminds me of my dog, who is also very much a lap dog. He loves to snuggle and curl up all in your space. It’s the best! So happy for you ladies.

  4. Amanda says:

    Congratulations! Excited to meet her.

  5. Liz says:

    Congratulations! How wonderful for you all!

Leave a Reply

