The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

The search begins

on September 18, 2014

I’ve spent the last month being fairly introspective about the dog situation. It was nice to have the emotional space to grieve Lucy, as well as the time to really think about what we wanted in a dog. There have been times when I’ve thought I was totally ready for another dog before October 1, and then something else would happen and I would realize nope, not ready.

But the fog is beginning to clear and I’m starting to really miss the little things that having a dog brings to the house, and so I feel like it’s time to dip a toe back into things. I fully expect this search to take a few weeks, which would put us right at our October 1 timeframe.

What are we looking for? Let’s just get this out of the way. I really want a golden retriever puppy. There are even a few at the rescue golden site. BUT. I’m coherent enough to know that we just can’t deal with a puppy right now. I’m reserving the right to circle back to this in a few years though.

Back to what we’re looking for, the first thing on my list would be a companion. What I loved about Lucy was that she was there for everything. She was my companion as I mowed the lawn, she went along on family walks, and she hung out with us while we watched tv. I want a dog who wants to be with us, and who can be calm enough that I want the dog with us. This means no puppies and no hyper dogs, which rules out a fair number of breeds.

The girls have very specifically asked for a dog they can pick up. This (hopefully) pairs well with wanting a lap dog.

And so, I turn to you internets! I don’t have a lot of experience with these types of dogs. I mentioned one breed to a friend and she said they are very barky. A lot of barking would drive me up the wall, so I was glad I knew that before we looked at any dogs.

What are we looking at? Shih Tzu’s, Pekingese, Yorkshire Terriers, and any mix of those. I would kind of love a beagle, but I think it would be too big? Although that was my childhood dog so can’t rule it out. Are there any breeds we should add to this list? Cross off? What should I look for?


11 responses to “The search begins

  1. Grammy says:

    I did hear that Yorkshire Terriers are very fragile and like to nip. You know I am partial to Beagles, but they do howl! It would be nice if you could find an “Agnes”.

    • Erin says:

      Underdog Rescue has a few different pekingese that are possibilities. Oddly enough, that breed seems to have the most rescue dogs available in this area. Then I wouldn’t have to steal Agnes!

  2. Amy says:

    Shih Tzus can be a bit of a mixed bag – I’ve known some that are fantastic, but my brother’s (who wasn’t trained well, in full disclosure), is super barky. He’s very much a lap dog, though, and loves to cuddle.

    I was at the Augsburg House for an event on Monday evening, and they have the sweetest dog called a Daisy Dog. Abigail gave us the card for their breeder, and I found her website. Auggie the doggie was incredibly sweet, great around a group of 30+ people, and I think i only heard him make noise once. He let us pick him up for a picture, and he doesn’t shed. May be something to consider!

    http://www.daisydogs.com/

    • Erin says:

      I saw that dog in your pictures! Very cute and the perfect size. I love how she describes daisy dogs, that’s exactly what I’m looking for. Bummer she’s in Michigan, but I may email her and see if there are any available in MN. Thank you!

  3. Gerry says:

    Add Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. We had Chloe for 12 years and she was great with our kids when they were babies, toddlers, and pre-teens. Our Chloe was a bit too large and fragile for the kids to pick her up (22 lbs), but they can be as small as 16 lbs. All Spaniels have hunting instincts and Chloe loved her walks where she could catch the smells and sites of wildlife. We are on a waiting list for a new cavalier puppy this fall.

    • Erin says:

      Thank you! I will definitely keep my eyes open for this breed. They don’t come up in rescue organizations very often, but I’ve seen a few. I’ll definitely do a petfinder search now!

  4. Scott Grunst says:

    I am, of course, partial to Shih Tzu’s because they are hypoallergenic, don’t shed, are lap dogs and don’t have that dog smell (Grandpa Dood would appreciate this). I have not known them to be barky, unless they are left alone for extended periods, much like any dog. You have to keep them groomed and they need brushing weekly (this can be a bonding experience). They can also have allergies so you need to know the parents and pay attention to their eyes (little or no white), bite (slight under bite is ok, over bite is not). This breed can live to be 18 years old so plan on a long time companion.
    I have also been introduced to another breed I find very appealing. It is a Havanese and they are similar to the Shih Tzu, hypoallergenic, non-shedding loving dogs and of course extremely cute.

  5. Nicole says:

    My parents have a cavalier King Charles who is great with B who is only 17 months old. She is cuddly and spunky! She just wants to be with us! Cockapoos are great! My family raised Yorkies years ago and they were nervous around kids plus they have teeth and trachea issues.

  6. Super super late to comment but labs are super companion animals. That is why we decided to go through a lab rescue. Daisy is always literally at our feet!

    • Erin says:

      The first round I was looking at a lot of labs and lab mixes. That’s what Charlie was and having him in the house made us realize we wanted a smaller dog. If I were to go big again, I would probably get a golden retriever female puppy since I’m so familiar with that breed. The problem is, I’m a sucker for that lab face!

  7. Okay now I got sucked into looking at labs near you. MUST STOP.

    https://www.petfinder.com/petdetail/29506595/

Leave a Reply

